Optimo Medical AG wins the zkb Pioneer Prize!

Monday 13.05.2019

Optimo Medical's CEO, Dr Harald Studer, was delighted last week for its innovative and ground-breaking eye surgery planning software Optimeyes to be recognized as 2019 winners of the zkb pioneer prize and for the company to receive a cheque for CHF 98,696.04. 

The Biel-based company was chosen over 50 other startups in many industries from across Switzerland. Since 2001 the zkb pioneer prize has been awarded annually to Swiss young entrepreneurs and is sponsored by the Foundation Swiss Technopark and the Zurich Cantonal Bank.

The product Optimeyes enables surgeons to plan cataract surgeries with simultaneous astigmatism correction patient-specifically, by creating a virtual copy of the individual cornea of the patient. On this virtually simulated copy, the computer can then “dry run” the surgery and calculate the optimal surgery values for the specific patient. This is important, as already micrometers decide between perfect sight or remaining vision impairment in eye surgeries. In addition, the planning for these surgeries currently relies on statistical models only which assume a “standard eye” and thus do not account for the personal characteristics of the patient’s cornea. Optimeyes is CE certified since March 2018 and commercially available across Europe.

The jury of the zkb prize was impressed by Optimo Medical and its product Optimeyes because they “took an exceptional idea and developed it into a technical project which is characterized by particular innovative power, market proximity, and social relevance”. The award and cash prize - which equals π2 times 10,000 - is among the most prestigious innovation awards for young entrepreneurs in Switzerland. Harald Studer commented that the recognition and prize will help the company invest in Marketing & Sales in order to increase the market traction for Optimeyes.

More information on the zkb Pionierpreis and the introductory video of our company (both in DE).

More details about Optimo Medical AG

Gewinner des zkb Pionierpreis 2019!

Montag 13.05.2019

Optimo Medical's CEO, Dr. Harald Studer, ehrt es sehr, dass seine innovative und bahnbrechende Operationsplanungssoftware Optimeyes letzte Woche als Gewinner des diesjährigen zkb Pionierpreises mit einer Gewinnsumme von CHF 98'696.04 ausgezeichnet wurde.

Die Bieler Firma hat sich gegen über 50 andere Schweizer Start-Ups aus verschiedensten Industrien durchgesetzt. Der zkb Pionierpreis wird seit 2001 jährlich von der Stiftung Technopark Zürich und der Zürcher Kantonalbank verliehen und zeichnet Schweizer Jungunternehmer aus.

Das Produkt Optimeyes ermöglicht es ChirurgInnen, die Planung von Operationen des grauen Stars mit gleichzeitiger Sehschärfenkorrektur patientenspezifisch zu planen, indem eine virtuelle Kopie der individuellen Hornhaut der Patientin oder des Patienten erstellt wird. Auf dieser virtuellen Kopie kann der Computer dann die Operation «testlaufen» lassen und so die bestmöglichen Operationswerte berechnen. Dies ist wichtig, da bei Augenoperationen bereits Mikrometer über den Erfolg der Operation oder bleibende Sehfehler entscheiden können. Zudem basiert die Planung dieser Operationen bisher auf statistischen Modellen, welche von einem «Standardauge» ausgehen, und daher die persönlichen Charakteristika der Augen nicht mit in Bezug nehmen. Optimeyes ist seit dem März 2018 CE zertifiziert und in Europe kommerziell erhältlich.

Die Jury des zkb Preises war von Optimo Medical und ihrem Produkt überzeugt, da sie "aus einer aussergewöhnlichen Idee ein technisches Projekt entwickelt haben, das sich durch besondere Innovationskraft, Marktnähe und soziale Relevanz auszeichnet". Der Preis und die Gewinnsumme – welche dem 10'000 -fachen Wert der Zahl π2 entspricht - gehört zu den wichtigsten Innovationspreisen für Jungunternehmen in der Schweiz. Harald Studer kommentierte, dass die Auszeichnung und der Preis der Firma eine grössere Marketing & Sales Kampagne ermöglichen wird, um die Markttraktion für Optimeyes zu erhöhen.

Mehr Infos zum zkb Pionierpreis und das Vorstellungsvideo unserer Firma.

Mehr Informationen über Optimo Medical AG